Dr. Gonong and Dr. Jocson receive plaques and certificates of recognition from the Teacher Education Council (TEC) during its 25th founding anniversary celebration on 5 December 2019 in Clark, Angeles City, Pampanga.

RCTQ Director Dr. Gina Gonong and Deputy Director Dr. Jennie Jocson were recognized by the Teacher Education Council (TEC) for their respective contributions to the Council’s work over the years.

Dr. Gonong and Dr. Jocson each received a plaque and a certificate of recognition during the 25th anniversary celebration held at Widus Hotel and Resort, Clark, Angeles City, Pampanga on 5 December 2019. The celebration’s theme was “TEC @ 25: One Step Backward; Two Steps Forward”.

Dr. Gonong and Dr. Jocson pose with other recipients of the TEC recognition from the Philippine Normal University: Dr. Rita Ruscoe, Dean, College of Teacher Development (1st on the left); Dr. Marilyn Balagtas, Dean, College of Flexible Learning and ePNU (2nd from left); Dr. Twila Punsalan, former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences (4th from left); and Dr. Gladys Nivera, Associate Dean, Faculty of Science, Technology, and Mathematics (1st on the right).

TEC, an agency attached to DepEd that is primarily responsible for the formulation of policies that improve the standards and system of teacher education, was founded in 1994 by virtue of Republic Act 7784, or an “Act Strengthening Teacher Education in the Philippines.”

RCTQ and TEC are currently partnering on three projects: i) Development of PPST-based prototype syllabi for pre-service teacher education,  ii) Development of a joint DepED-CHED policy on pre-service teachers field study and teaching internship experience, and the ii) Development of PPST-based coaching and mentoring module for cooperating teachers.

Dr. Gonong and Dr. Jocson are joined at the celebration by RCTQ Project Officer Ms. Izella Lampos and Senior Manager for Communications and Advocacy Mr. Arvin Yana

Both institutions also collaborated in the finalization and implementation of the Philippine Professional Standards for Teachers (PPST).


Dr. Gonong and Dr. Jocson with other TEC anniversary awardees