Dr. Rosemarievic Diaz, VP for Research, Planning and Quality Assurance of the Philippine Normal University (left), welcomes participants to the RCTQ-hosted research forum on August 31.

Students and teachers from teacher education institutions (TEIs) including those from the Philippine Normal University took part in a research forum on August 30, 2019 at the PNU Alumni Hall.

The forum highlighted the link between the Philippine Professional Standards for Teachers (PPST) and the pre-service education and training. It was part of the three-day ‘Celebrating RCTQ partnerships’ series of events.

In welcoming the participants, PNU Vice President for Research, Planning and Quality Assurance Dr. Rosemarievic Diaz encouraged the participants to participate in roundtable discussions.

“This is your opportunity to understand the PPST in relation to what you are doing in the classroom, in your school, and in other stations,” Dr. Diaz said. “As a national center for teacher education, PNU is hopeful that through RCTQ’s high-impact research, teacher quality in the country will be put at a level where we expect it to be.”

RCTQ Director Dr. Gina Gonong and UNE-SiMERR Director Dr. John Pegg discussed the PPST as the new framework for Teacher Quality, while Dr. Runvi Manguerra, Executive Director of the Teacher Education Council, spoke extensively about the PPST-based systems approach to pre-service Education. Dr. Filmore Caballero, principal of the Valenzuela National High School who is part of the technical working group for the Philippine Professional Standards for School Heads (PPSSH) talked about the draft leadership standards as a systems solution.

Participants in one of the roundtable discussions with PNU and UNE officials.

Discussed at the roundtables were assessment and experiential learning, prototype syllabi, practicum framework operationalization, and standardizing coaching and mentoring.

UNE Dean Prof. Michael Wilmore and PNU Office of the President Officer in Charge Dr. Ma. Antoinette Montealegre also welcomed the forum participants.